Federal Reports on Police Killings: Ferguson, Cleveland, Baltimore, and Chicago (Paperback)

Federal Reports on Police Killings: Ferguson, Cleveland, Baltimore, and Chicago By U.S. Department of Justice Cover Image
Email or call for price.


After a series of incidents in which police officers in Chicago, Cleveland, Baltimore and Ferguson, Missouri, killed four unarmed African Americans--Laquan McDonald, Tamir Rice, Freddie Gray, and Michael Brown--resulting in widespread civic unrest and violent protests, the Department of Justice launched investigations into each incident, including in-depth probes into the police departments behind them.
This is the complete and unexpurgated text of their findings.

About the Author

The Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice, created in 1957 by the enactment of the Civil Rights Act of 1957, works to uphold the civil and constitutional rights of all Americans, particularly some of the most vulnerable members of our society. The Division enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, disability, religion, familial status and national origin.

Since its establishment, the Division has grown dramatically in both size and scope, and has played a role in many of the nation's pivotal civil rights battles. Division attorneys prosecuted the defendants accused of murdering three civil rights workers in Mississippi in 1964, and were involved in the investigations of the assassinations of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Medgar Evers. The Division enforces a wide array of laws that protect the civil rights of all individuals.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781612196541
ISBN-10: 1612196543
Publisher: Melville House
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 480
Language: English