Jasmine and Jake Rock the Boat (Paperback)

Jasmine and Jake Rock the Boat By Sonya Lalli Cover Image
$17.00
Available to Order

Description


An impulsive decision to join an Alaskan cruise getaway brings the chance for an onboard romance in this new enemies-to-lovers romance from the author of A Holly Jolly Diwali.

Jasmine Randhawa likes everyone to think she has it all—great job, perfect Seattle apartment, and a handsome boyfriend. But she’s not as confident or successful as she seems, and her relationship is at a breaking point.  

When Jasmine finds herself single and tagging along on her parents’ vacation, she’s not sure her life can get any farther off course. It's a nightmare for someone who's been so fiercely independent to find herself on a cruise full of family friends who’ve judged her since childhood. Things only get worse once the ship leaves the harbor and she realizes that this is a seniors’ cruise, and the only other person under fifty on the entire boat is her childhood acquaintance, cocky and successful Jake Dhillon.

Jasmine and Jake clash right away, with Jasmine smarting over how their South Asian community puts him on a pedestal as the perfect Indian son, whereas her reputation as a troublemaker precedes her. Except they can’t avoid each other forever during the ten-day cruise, and they soon recognize a surprising number of similarities, especially in how many secrets they’re keeping hidden from their families. Their restlessness seems to disappear whenever they’re together, but is this relationship strong enough to last on land?

About the Author


Sonya Lalli is a romance and women’s fiction author of Punjabi and Bengali heritage. Her books have been featured in Entertainment Weekly, NPR, The Washington Post, Glamour, and more. She lives in Vancouver with her husband.

Praise For…


"An utterly divine enemies-to-lovers romp filled with breezy banter and her signature charm. Lalli created a vivid cast of characters that had me laughing out loud from the beginning. This book is sure to delight!"—Amy Lea, author of Set on You

“A modern romance with the perfect mix of emotional growth and meddling aunties.”—Kirkus

“Lalli brings the cruise to vivid life, with exiting excursions along the way and plenty of meddling aunties on board. This ought to make some waves.”—Publishers Weekly (starred)

“An enemies-to-lovers romance full of humor and heart.”—Library Journal

"Mistaken first impressions combined with a forced-proximity trope and the need to be discreet ratchet up the sexual tension and make for a delightful Pride and Prejudice–inspired romance.”--Booklist

Praise for Sonya Lalli

"A sweeping global romance that epically showcases India's festival of lights."--Entertainment Weekly

“Author Lalli's prose is deft, her characters are delightful and her book is the just-right holiday romance.”--USA Today

“A delicious holiday romance, cozily wrapped up in a story about rediscovering your roots and taking a chance on newfound love. Niki’s decision to attend her friend’s wedding in India provides a compelling exploration of family, reinvention, South Asian culture, and newfound love. What a fun read!”--Uzma Jalaluddin, bestselling author of Hana Khan Carries On

“Funny and heartwarming, with lush descriptions of Indian beach resorts and chaotic city streets, Lalli’s latest multicultural romance is extremely satisfying; her characters are refreshingly relatable. Highly recommended for fans of Sonali Dev and Sophie Kinsella.”--Booklist (starred)

"Sonya Lalli offers up a tale of familial pressures, cultural traditions, and self-discovery, that is equal turns heartbreaking and hilarious...Lalli tears down stereotypes with humor and warmth."--Entertainment Weekly

"An engaging love story that delivers on the promise of true love forever."--NPR

"A light-hearted yet perfectly-complicated read with several strong characters. It had many relatable laugh-out-loud moments, many cultural eye-roll and deep sigh moments, and many wholesome I-need-to-call-my-best-friend moments.”--Brown Girl Magazine

“Sonya Lalli's savvy novel puts relationships in all of their forms--family, friends, and romance--on even footing as a young woman works to find happiness.”--Shelf Awareness

“Sonya Lalli's charming novel explores how our relationships define us. Through honesty, humor, and vulnerability, Serena Singh reminds us that new, fulfilling connections are possible at any age. This equal parts relatable and entertaining story is a delight from start to finish!”—Saumya Dave

“Heartfelt and forthright, Lalli’s culturally rich work of women's fiction is exceptional.”—Booklist (starred)

"From yoga studios to finding oneself in trips abroad to online dating, Lalli gives readers a wonderful novel about love and belonging and meaning of happiness and home."--Soniah Kamal, award-winning author of Unmarriageable: Pride and Prejudice in Pakistan

"Anu's struggle to find herself is wrought with obstacles and sometimes frustrating, but the resolution of her story is both satisfying and realistic. A moving look at one woman's journey between her family and her desire for independence."--Kirkus

"Lalli's sharp-eyed tale of cross-cultural dating, family heartbreak, the strictures of culture, and the exuberance of love is both universal and timeless."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Bright and vivid, and fresh and funny--I was utterly charmed by this insight into Raina's struggle to be the perfect Indian daughter. A delightful debut."--Veronica Henry, author of How to Find Love in a Bookshop

"A riotous odyssey into the pressures of cross-cultural modern dating that will chime with every 20-something singleton"--ELLE (UK)

"A funny and moving exploration of modern love."--Balli Kaur Jaswal, author of Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

"Absolutely charming."--Woman's Day

"A warm and refreshing look at cultural identity, unexpected romance, and unbreakable family bonds."--Kirkus

"Lalli's debut is a delightful, multicultural romantic comedy full of humorous banter and loads of life lessons about family, happiness, love, honesty, and acceptance."--Booklist (starred review)

"A knockout romantic comedy debut."--Washington Independent Review of Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593440650
ISBN-10: 059344065X
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: April 18th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English